We’re off to England!

After almost six months of continuous Bavarian winteriness (never again), we are taking a break in England. I have never been so happy and excited to return to my crappy homeland. Because a break from Germany means no more heavy snow! No more resorting to miming actions when I fail at the awful German language! No more being expected to eat a whole cake when we just want to visit someone! No more explaining to people that ‘that was just a joke’! No more naked people at the local swimming pool! No more being considered a hooker when I dare to wear heels! No more ‘it’s Sunday, what the hell are we going to do today – everything’s shut?’ And, no more…..Germans!

Living in Germany has really made me appreciate my own country in ways no one or nothing else ever has. As an Expat it’s the little things you miss about home. I am most looking forward to having a cuppa with my nan, laughing at my dad’s constant sarcasm, having a good bitch with my girlfriends, being crude without offending anyone, and buying a ridiculously huge British newspaper on a Sunday without paying the international price tag. Then of course there are the gorgeous British pubs, cheddar cheese, fish and chips, Cadbury Creme Eggs, (yes, this is as good as British food gets) and the way everyone is so so grateful when the sun comes out. I wonder what other Expats miss most about their own countries?

I am fortunate that home is just a 100 Euro, one-hour plane journey away. Popping back for a week here and there is not that hard. And despite my extreme happiness you know I will be glad to be back after all that constant tea, rain and those bloody miserable Poms. Until then, Auf Wiedersehen!

4 thoughts on “We’re off to England!

  1. Oh I agree wholeheartedly with these sentiments. I’ve just got back to Dubai after two weeks home in England. Bloody hell, it was freezing – but I loved every minute of it! 🙂

    • Glad you had a good time! Yes it was very cold, must have been even more of a shocker for you coming from Dubai. Compared to Germany it was warm. What do you miss most about ‘home’?

  2. They’re pubs are awesome and you can’t get better cider in the world there (ok.. Ireland is still my no1 but england is no2!) Anyway I hope you guys have a great time back in England. By the way, Frühlingsfest started in Stuttgart. 🙂

Leave a comment