Foodie Heaven in Augsburg: The Bavarian City No One’s Heard Of.

With the charms of the alluring Munich, Regensburg and Nuremberg all nearby, Augsburg doesn’t get much of a look-in on the Bavarian tourist trail.

In fact we have lived an hour’s drive away from here for two years now and hadn’t even bothered to visit Augsburg ourselves until this weekend.

This was due to a bad review from an American expat friend (who wasn’t that impressed) and a less than enthusiastic write-up in the Lonely Planet.

So I was pleasantly surprised to find that Germany’s third oldest city is a beautifully buzzy place with astounding architecture and a thriving market perfect for foodie types.

In typical German style the Stadtmarkt (city market) must also be one of the world’s cleanest and most organised.

In one lane you will find around half a dozen bakeries, selling delicious German breads and mouth-watering cakes.

In another there are the colourful fruit and veg stalls peddling autumn truffles among the florists and a few home ware shops.

Then on a third aisle you have all the fishmongers and a few eateries where you can snack on fresh fish buns while watching the world go by.

As if that’s not enough the market also boasts a food hall full of international goodies in its Viktualienhalle.

Here you’ll find stalls brimming with Italian antipasti, Asian spices and fine smoked meats as well as a couple of pop-up bars where weary shoppers pause for a wine or beer. Nice!

It’s the perfect place for stocking up (particularly at Christmas time) and soaking up a great atmosphere at the same time.

As I grew up in Essex in the UK I used to think of markets as being the kind of place where dodgy guys sold cheap clothes and knocked off shampoo somewhere under a grimy underpass.

So I’m forever impressed when I stumble on a market that has charm, class and sells fruit a bit more exotic than apples.

After munching our way through the market we checked out Augsburg’s colourful Altstadt (old city) with its 17th century Renaissance Town Hall and gothic cathedral.

The sun even popped out for a bit, causing a rush of Germans to the nearest ice-cream sellers (they are mad for ice-cream here. When sun shines,  Brits sunbathe. Germans buy ice-cream).

Large chains and independent shops are in abundance in compact Augsburg too (perfect for shopping) with some cool arty places dotted along winding backstreets such as Dominikanergasse. I was impressed and wondered why the hell no one had gushed to me about this wonderful place before.

I guess the moral of the story is, don’t trust American dudes or Lonely Planet. Find out for yourself.

After being seduced by the market and the shops we didn’t have time to see much else, but hopefully we’ll pop back one day to see the Art Nouveau synagogue and the famous Augsburg Puppet Box.

Until then, Auf Wiedersehen!

11 thoughts on “Foodie Heaven in Augsburg: The Bavarian City No One’s Heard Of.

  1. Nice photos. I was actually in Augsburg recently… but it was a Sunday, so no markets and all the shops were closed!

  2. Looks lovely! I long for the days of exploring!

    • Exploring is always good. The good thing about here is there are lots of places to see if you’re willing to drive 1-2 hours. Just not much in the immediate area though! Is it like that around Trier?

  3. Gorgeous photos! Thanks for sharing them!
    I spent 3 weeks in Augsburg as they have Europe’s best (Europe’s only?) Lyme disease clinic there.
    I remember that food market – YUM!!!!

    • Thank you! I loved Augsburg. And I didn’t know that about the clinic – I hope you or the person you were there for has made a recovery.

      • My son and I were both having treatment. We’re both much better thanks, but not completely cured – It’s a nightmare of an infection to get rid of.

      • Oh I’m really sorry to hear that. It’s not something I know much about but I’ve Googled it and it doesn’t look pleasant at all. I hope you both manage to get rid of it.

      • It really is horrendous. Do be very careful to cover all bare flesh when you go for your country walks because it is absolutely rife in Southern Germany.
        I wrote an article giving some tips on safety precautions, please read it and tell your friends:
        http://dianabelchase.com/2013/05/07/lyme-disease-the-new-global-epidemic/

        And only if you can bear it, this describes what it was doing to my son (thank goodness he is almost symptom free now):
        http://siciliangodmother.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/are-you-aware-of-lyme-disease/

        I don’t want to seem annoying going on about it, but I cannot bear the idea of anyone catching this life-changing illness when they could have avoided it if only they knew about it – which is what happened to me. So I am now a bit of a Lyme Disease evangelist!!!

      • Wow. I read both articles. I can’t imagine how horrendous it’s been for you and your son. To see him so ill too must have been heartbreaking. I’m really glad that you are both better and on the mend. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. We live in the country and often get out for walks, particularly in the summer, so I will take precautions from now on and spread the word. They have mentioned a tick vaccination at our doctors for my son to have at some stage, would this be against Lymes do you think? Thanks for bringing it to my attention and also for sharing your experiences to help others.

      • Last thing I heard there isn’t a vaccination against Lyme that really works, but that may have changed. Ticks spread dozens of different diseases and a few of them can be rapidly fatal, so perhaps the vaccination is for some of those? But I am not sure about all this so I would ask, and I would definitely go ahead and get him vaccinated.
        Thank you for your kind wishes for me and my son! 🙂

Leave a comment